Jake Connor included in Hull FC squad for Salford friendly

As expected, Hull FC have named a full strength squad for their fourth pre-season friendly at Salford.

Lee Radford, for the first time in 2017, has included the likes of Danny Houghton, Mark Minichiello, Sika Manu and Gareth Ellis, as Hull’s squad get the full run out we anticipated.

Last weeks stars in the win against Toronto, Albert Kelly, Marc Sneyd and Jamie Shaul, will feature, alongside the new right edge of Carlos Tuimavave and Mahe Fonua.

But the headline news is that of Jake Connor, who after shaking off a mild knee injury, is set to make his highly anticipated Hull FC debut.

Much debate has been made to where Connor will play in 2017, but the Salford game should give us an indication to Radford’s plans, with the player able to slot in at half back, full back and at centre.

Meanwhile youngster Jansin Turgut will feature, and deservedly so, after a sequence of impressive displays during pre-season.

Josh Griffin will line up against his previous club for the first time. Marc Sneyd also returns to one of his former sides.

Josh Bowden however misses out for the second successive week with an ankle injury.

New Salford signing Todd Carney is still awaiting the approval of his visa and therefore continues the wait for a Red Devil’s debut.

Ian Watson though has named 26 players, compared to Hull’s 20, with the likes of Michael Dobson and Gareth O’Brien included.


Hull Squad: 1. Jamie Shaul, 2. Mahe Fonua, 3. Carlos Tuimavave, 4. Josh Griffin, 5. Fetuli Talanoa, 6. Albert Kelly, 7. Marc Sneyd, 8. Scott Taylor, 9. Danny Houghton, 10. Liam Watts, 11. Dean Hadley, 12. Mark Minichiello, 13. Gareth Ellis, 14. Jake Connor, 15. Chris Green, 16. Jordan Thompson, 17. Danny Washbrook, 19. Steve Michaels, 21. Sika Manu, 25. Jansin Turgut.

Salford Squad: Adam Walne, Chester Butler, Connor McGrath (both Halifax dual reg), Craig Kopczak, Dan Murray, Gareth O’Brien (legend), George Griffin, Greg Johnson, Jake Bibby, Jordan Walne, Josh Wood (not the FC one), Junior S’au, Justin Carney, Kris Welham, Kriss Brining, Lama Tasi, Lee Mossop, Liam Bent, Mark Flanagan, Matt Wilkinson, Michael Dobson, Niall Evalds, Olsi Krasniqi, Robert Lui, Ryan Lannon, Weller Hauraki.

Author Image
About Dan Tomlinson 1568 Articles
Editor of Up the Cream. Once upon a time I looked like my profile pic.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.