New Super League Structure explained

The Super League structure has been confirmed for 2019 and beyond. 

The competition now guarantees one-up, one-down promotion and relegation in a 12-team competition. All teams will play each other once at home and once away, with the inclusion of six additional fixtures, known as loop fixtures, and the Magic Weekend. As of yet, no indication has been given to who plays who in the loop fixtures. 

The 29-game regular season will end with the top five teams competing in a play-off series which rounds off in a Grand Final at Old Trafford to determine the Super League champions. 

Meanwhile the Championship structure will expand to a 14 team competition in 2019 with all teams playing each other once home and away, plus the Summer Bash. The competition will end with a play-off series for the top five teams with the winner promoted to Super League, and relegation for the bottom two clubs.

To reach a 14-team Championship at the end of this current season, two teams from League One, likely to be York and Bradford, will be promoted.

League One will consist of 12 teams playing each other home and away with the top team automatically promoted. Teams 2-6 will play-off to decide the second team to be promoted.

Super League Play-Offs 

A top five play-off will determine the winners of Super League. 

Round 1

Elimination Final: 4th v 5th

Qualifying Final: 2nd v 3rd

Round 2

1st Semi-Final: Loser of QF v Winner of EF

2nd Semi-Final: 1st v Winner of QF

Round 3

Preliminary Final: Loser of SF2 v Winner of SF1

Grand Final: Winner of 2nd Semi-Final v Winner of Preliminary Final

For more details, click here

Issue 61


Author Image
About Dan Tomlinson 1946 Articles
Editor of Up the Cream. Once upon a time I looked like my profile pic.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.